The Wyoming Department of Health (WDH) is promulgating this Emergency Rule to comply with best medical practices as outlined by the American Academy of Pediatrics for the timing of collection of newborn screening samples. Wyoming Statute § 35-4-801 and the Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act at W.S. § 16-3-101, et seq., authorize the WDH to promulgate rules.
The Department is promulgating this Emergency Rule to shorten the time from Newborn Metabolic Screening sample collection to identification and treatment in healthy newborns. The current Rule advises the collector of specimens to gather the samples between forty-eight (48) and seventy-two (72) hours of age. Per American Academy of Pediatrics Guidelines, samples should be collected, instead, between twenty-four (24) and forty-eight (48) hours after birth. This proposed change would place Wyoming’s Rules and Regulations for Newborn Metabolic Screening collection in line with current, recommended medical practice.
Click Here for Emergency Rules "Clean Copy"
Click Here for Emergency Rules "Strike and Underline"
The Wyoming Department of Health is promulgating this Amended Rule pursuant to W.S. § 35-4-801 and 35-4-802, and the Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act at W.S. § 16-3-101, et seq. This Rule will bring policy in line with best medical practice; will update and clarify requirements and responsibilities of medical providers, birthing hospitals, and the state Newborn Metabolic Screening program in carrying out statutorily-mandatory screening of newborn infants for inborn errors of metabolism and other anomalies identified through newborn screening; and will increase the fee charged to hospitals and all other collectors of initial newborn screens to $77.00 from $70.00.
Click Here for Public Notice Intent to Adopt Amended Rules
Click Here for Amended Rules "Clean Copy"
Click Here for Amended Rules "Strike and Underline"