American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA)


Transitional Medicaid Assistance (TMA)

B, Title V, Sec. 5004

States are required to continue Medicaid benefits for certain low-income families who would otherwise lose coverage because of changes in their income.  This continuation is called transitional medical assistance (TMA).  Federal law permanently requires states to provide at least six, and up to 12, months of coverage for families who lose Medicaid eligibility due to increased child or spousal support collections, as well as those who lose eligibility due to an increase in earned income or hours of employment.

We currently budget for this program on an ongoing basis since it has always been extended regardless of the sunset dates.


White Papers:


Linda O'Grady

Senior Eligibility Manager

Office of HealthCare Financing, EqualityCare

6101 Yellowstone Road, Suite 210

Cheyenne, WY  82002

Tel:  (307) 777-5472

Fax:  (307) 777-6964