Skip Navigation Links Wyoming Department of Health

Assisted Living Facility - Wyoming Licensure Information

The definition of Assisted Living Facility is a dwelling operated by any person, firm, or corporation engaged in providing limited nursing care; personal care; and boarding home care, but not habilitative care, for persons not related to the owner of the facility. This definition may include facilities with secured units and facilities dedicated to the special care and services for people with Alzheimer's disease or other dementia conditions.

A valid state license is required prior to providing care to any client/patient/resident.

Following are the requirements and procedures through which your agency may be approved to be licensed as a provider of Assisted Living Facility services.

Click below for a license application for State licensure.  Please fill out the application in its entirety and submit to our office, along with the required fee. A list of required paperwork which must be sent to this office for review and approval before your agency can receive a State license is available below (click on Ambulatory Surgical Center Licensure Checklist).

After reviewing the regulations, please contact one of our engineers at (307) 777-7123 to discuss the building requirements and any construction review approval process.  Once we have approved these items, a provisional license will be issued, and you will be able to start providing services to clients/patients/residents.

When you have clients/patients/residents for which you are providing services your agency must request, in writing, that a health survey be conducted.  An unannounced survey will be provided by state surveyors as soon as scheduling permits.  When the initial survey has been completed and the facility is found to be in compliance with the regulations, a permanent license will be issued. 

A license permits an applicant to operate a healthcare facility in Wyoming.  It does not enroll or certify a provider or supplier of healthcare services to participate in federal certification programs (Medicare/Medicaid). 

There is a survey fee charged to do an initial licensure and re-licensure inspection of the Assisted Living Facility, as authorized in Wyoming Statute 35-2-907(c).  You will receive an invoice for these fees after a health inspection has been completed.  Current fees are: 

Licensed Bed Capacity

Survey Fee

1 to 59

$ 450.00

60 or more

$ 550.00

 


Assisted Living Facility: New Facility or Change of Ownership Application

Please note: This license application is provided in MS Word format. If you experience problems opening the license application or want to request that the application be e-mailed to you in PDF format, please contact us by e-mail or by telephone: (307) 777-7123


Assisted Living Facility Licensure Checklist
   Word Format   PDF Format

Assisted Living Facility Manager Test:   Word   PDF Format

Assisted Living Facility Rules and Regulations
       
Chapter 4 (Licensure) - 06-28-2001
      Chapter 12 (Program Administration) - 12-12-2007

Healthcare Facility Construction Rules and Regulations
      Chapter 3 - 04-03-2008
      Chapter 3 Guidelines:  Word Format    PDF Format
 

PDF FormatIf you do not have Adobe Reader, you may obtain it free
of charge by clicking on the Get Adobe Reader icon below.