IMPORTANT NOTICE: Many pages on this site may not display properly for Internet Explorer 11 users. Please consider another browser such as Chrome or Firefox.



The Wyoming Primary Care Support Grant Program

 The Wyoming Primary Care Support Grant Program was created through Wyoming Statute § 9-2-127 during the 2011 General Session of the Wyoming Legislature.

Purpose:  The purpose of the Wyoming Primary Care Support Grant Program is to provide grants to Community Health Centers and Rural Health Clinics for capital construction and start-up costs, as follows:

  •    As one-time start-up costs of a new Community Health Center or Rural Health Clinic; or
  •    To allow existing Community Health Centers or Rural Health Clinics to:
    1. Expand the population served; or
    2. Initiate new services; or
    3. Facilitate compliance with quality criteria.
  •    Grants cannot be used for operational expenses.

Program Rules and Regulations:   Click HERE to view the Rules and Regulations for the Wyoming Primary Care Support Grant Program.  The Rules provide full details on the requirements of the Program.

Funding:  There is $1 million available for grants to clinics through June 30, 2017.  The maximum amount allowable per grant award to any one (1) Community Health Center or Rural Health Clinic is $1 million.

Matching Fund Requirement:  All applications must have local matching funds (cash, in-kind, or both) in an amount no less than 25% of the funding request and must provide evidence of such in the application.

General Eligibility: The following are general eligibility requirements.  Full details and definitions of clinic types can be found in the Program Rules and Regulations.

  • Community Health Centers
    1. New Community Health Centers which will apply for a "New Access Point" grant to receive Public Health Service Act Section 330 (PHS 330) funding as a federally qualified Community Health Center.
    2. Existing Community Health Centers.
    3. Existing Federally Qualified Health Center Look-Alikes (FQHC-LAs).
    4. Eligible Community Health Centers do not include other types of Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs) including, but not limited to, migrant and homeless clinics.
  • Rural Health Clinics
    1. New Rural Health Clinics which will apply to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) to receive designation as a Rural Health Clinic.
    2. Existing Rural Health Clinics.
  • Additional Eligibility Requirements
    1. Applicants must have an electronic health record, or inclusion of an electronic health record in the applied for project, that has been certified under the Certified IT Product List (CHPL).  The CHPL is available online at
    2. Applicants must have approval to apply for a grant under the Program from the Board of County Commissioners of the applicable county which is no more than six (6) months old at the time of application.

Administration:  The application process, coordination and monitoring of awards, and technical assistance to applicants and awardees, will be administered by the Wyoming Primary Care Association. The Wyoming Department of Health, Public Health Division, Office of Rural Health retains authority over all aspects of the Program including, but not limited to, the issuance of awards, the award contracting process, monitoring of awardee compliance, payment of awards, and awardee non-compliance and repayment determinations. 

Application:  The Program will accept applications between March 1, 2013 and May 31, 2013.  Awards will be determined after the close of the application period.  Click HERE to download the application package.   



Wyoming Primary Care Association                                    

1720 Carey Avenue, Suite 601

Cheyenne, WY 82001

PH:  307-632-5743